These are a few of my favorite things

Okay, for one thing the Sound of Music is my favorite movie ever…It was so disappointing to get home from break this year to find that we got a new tv that does not have a plug in for the vcr which means I can’t watch the Sound of Music…or rather I can’t watch the video of the Sound of Music that I have been watching forwards and backwards over and over for years…sad day…My mom checked out the dvd of the Sound of Music from the library…it is okay, but it has the wrong advertisements and intro stuff, and there are a few things that I think they changed on the dvd and my mom returned it after I had only watched it once because she was tired of hearing me yell at the tv that it was doing it wrong…

I have never been one to do something only once or to make only one of something–as my mom puts it, I mass-produce…When I had a potholder loom I didn’t make just one; I made piles and piles of them…when I learned to make keychains I similarly made probably at least 50 of them (luckily in 8th grade for some reason they were doing a keychain drive and I determined that I was willing to part with a lot of my keychains…I probably still have a couple bags of them in my room and I still have supplies to make many more, but I don’t have quite as many anymore)…so it probably comes at no surprise that I make the same two recipes over and over when I have time…yeah, I can make other things and on occasion I do, but for the most part I just make a lot of these two recipes…or actually mostly just one recipe…

So…first recipe: Poo Bread…my mom can’t find out that I used that term to refer to it, but me and my brothers and my dad call it that when she is not around…it gets that name because if you squeeze it, chocolate comes out like the bread is pooping…My mom says if she finds out any of us calling it that then we are no longer allowed to eat it…but that doesn’t really stop us…yep, we still use potty-humor…kind of like the book “Cooking with Pooh” sounds gross…

So what this recipe takes the most of is patience…after that this is what you do
1 stick butter (softened), 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup water
1 egg, 3 cups bread flour, 1/4 cup sugar, 2 1/4tsp yeast, 1/2 tsp salt
either put it in a breadmaker in the dough setting or if your breadmaker stopped working last summer like the one at my house did then use your hands to mix it together until it looks like dough and then rub oil over it and then let it rise for about an hour…
when there is about probably 20 minutes or so left of the breadmaker cycle or of rising time grease a cookie sheet and a cutting board (14″X11″) with Crisco and grease a rolling pin with flour then on the stove heat up 3/4 cup chocolate chips, 1/3 cup evaporated milk, 2Tbsp sugar. When it is melted turn off the heat and add 1tsp vanilla, 1/4tsp cinnamon and mix it up…when you are done with that hopefully the timer is about to go off 🙂
Take the dough and roll it out to cover the whole cutting board then cut slits on the long sides (the same number on each side). Then pour the chocolate mix into the middle so that it mostly covers the length of the dough. Then fold the slits in one from each side and then the next one from each side always starting on the same side until you run out of slits. Then let it rise for 45 minutes then *transfer it to a cookie sheet* and cook it for 20 minutes at 375 degrees Fahrenheit…and I did this by memory…that is what happens when you make the same thing over and over :)…also this recipe is great for mass-producers because you practically have to make it more than once since you only need 1/3 cup of evaporated milk so you’ll have leftover milk, and yeast doesn’t last forever either 🙂

**this step is a good one to push off on someone else because it is hard…agreeing to make it at night is good so that you just happen to go to bed before this step so the person who wanted it has to figure out how to get it to the cookie sheet 🙂

The other thing that I make is chocolate chip cookies…but unlike my mom, I like there to be more cookie than chocolate chip in my cookies so I like there to be about two chocolate chips per cookie…whereas my mom puts in so much chocolate chips that it is pretty much do you want a little cookie with your chocolate chips?…so yeah, if I remember correctly, when I made this recipe in August to bring cookies to school it made 3 bags of 18 cookies plus a bag of cookies for home that I don’t remember how many cookies were in…when this was the recipe that I made over and over I had this one memorized too, but I don’t remember the whole thing anymore…but I’ll still put it out there because I love these cookies (hint hint if you know me in real life and want to make cookies to share with me 🙂 …you obviously do not have to, but these are good cookies for you to eat too…)

2 cups butter flavor Crisco, 1 cup brown sugar, 2 cups white sugar mix with mixer
4 eggs 1.5 TBSP vanilla mix
2tsp salt 2tsp baking soda 5cup flour mix
add 8-24oz chocolate chips or two per cookie…whatever floats your boat 🙂
cook exactly 10 minutes at 375 degrees Fahrenheit…they might not look done, but they are…if they look done they are probably cooked too long and you should try cooking then for fewer minutes..

so yeah…

Care to share your thoughts?

