And If I had to Crawl Would you Crawl Too?

(Crawl–Superchick)

Anyone who knows me at least a little bit knows that I ADORE children, and would much prefer to spend my days with a few infants than almost anything else. Because of this, I spend as much time as I am allowed to in the nursery at church. If I could live there, I totally would. Every week when the kids are picked up it is really sad, because I love them so much it is hard to give them back…but their parents kinda want them back, and I don’t actually have any car seats so I would have no way to bring them home with me…It is especially hard the last week before I go back to school because I know when I get back the majority if not all the infants will no longer be infants, and all the other kids also grow up way too fast…

My favorite stage of child development is the first few months after birth. I really think kids are by far the cutest the first two to four months they are outside mommy. Although I would love to have an infant around me at all times, since I actually only get to see them about once a week at church, it is also really cool those first few months how each week the child is obviously bigger and more developed. After the tiny babies, my next favorite age is from there until they are about to crawl. Then my next favorite is kids who are still under 2yo but walking, then kids that are crawling, then from there chronologically, the younger the kids the more comfortable I am. I have noticed that as my social skills improve I am getting better with older kids, but it feels kind of harder for me with kids who are school-aged, because at that point I start feeling like we are close enough in age that the relationship is more ambiguous–are we friends or am I mostly just watching you…yeah I know, I don’t really have good age boundaries for my friendships…

This Sunday was an interesting one to leave off on…in a mostly good way…First hour I wasn’t in the nursery and my mom was in the guest center so it would be a little obvious if I skipped out on the service, so I had to go to the old people service 😦 …second hour though I was in the hearts room…that is kids who were under two years old at the beginning of the year and who are ready for a more structured hour–though the closest I have ever gotten to leading story time is once when I put in a video a summer or two ago because the room was a disaster zone, my helpers were more interested in playing with themselves and snacking than playing with or doing anything with the kids, and the kids were antsy…so anyway, Bethany told me that I was Sheila (the usual hearts room teacher) for the hour…I am sometimes not sure if I want to be another person or if I’d rather just be myself, the main adult in the room for the hour, but I decided this was a time it was good to be another person, because Bethany says Sheila is one of her rock stars, so if I can be her, then I can feel like I am awesome too 🙂

So that was interesting…I had one child who cried for his mom long enough that we had to call for someone to pick him up, because he wasn’t settling down no matter what I tried…except the number that was left was grandma’s number…grandma agreed to pick him up and look for his mom though, so it worked out…but when grandma got there he still screamed as she was picking him up that he wanted mom…I felt really bad for that…both because the kid didn’t even want grandma, and because I kinda felt like a failure because usually I am really good at getting kids calmed down…

Third hour there are only two rooms, and I strongly prefer the younger room–again because of the infants…I think my helpers wanted to be helpful, but just weren’t really sure what to do–but I learned that I need to be more specific with what I want…I asked first for a bouncer and I got one–in the middle of the room…then I asked for either two swings or a swing and another bouncer and the girl asked me which ones to get and at this point I was about to get a fourth infant so I really just wanted her to grab something and do it quickly and told her to get whatever she wanted…which provided me with a swing and an infant vibration chair…the latter of which might have been a nice idea in a room with only infants, but not such a great idea with older kids around…especially since she originally did not place it near a wall…so yeah…lesson learned: be very specific about what you need, because it is not as obvious to other people as it is to you…One of the infants that was dropped off was my best friend’s friend’s baby. My best friend had me put her friend’s number in my cell phone and promise to text if ANYTHING happened…that child was adorable…he did start to cry though, and I wished I had gotten a little better definition of “anything” because I was not so sure if I was supposed to text his mom immediately or try to soothe him myself first…so I texted his mom…and Betsy came to pick him up and calm him down…which was kind of good because that gave me a chance to find another infant’s nuk and grab a new spit up rag for another one, but also another failure for me because it kinda makes me feel like I am not trusted with a crying baby…but yeah, it was AWESOME that Betsy gave me permission to text with my cell phone, because we are technically supposed to use a church phone to call parents if necessary so that caller ID will probably come up as Berean, which is something I hate doing, so if they wanted notification if ANYTHING happened then that was kind of not going to happen…he was a cutie though…I try not to play favorites though…but there is one girl whose birthday is 10/20/13 and she has been coming to the nursery since mid-to-late December and was frequently the only infant 3rd hour, so she kind of won my heart, but besides loving the youngest ones most, I still do not play favorites…plus it is most definitely not anything an outside observer would be likely to notice, because it is something that stays in my heart–I still outwardly show the same love to the little ones as I do to the older kids, and while I am a little more protective of the younger ones it isn’t really much more than would be expected since they are smaller and therefore slightly more vulnerable…

…I am going to miss the nursery so much when I go back to school…I already miss it a lot…

Also, this is super random, but someone said this online, and I was like that is totally me: Everyone has cognitive variation usually like between 70s and 80s but I am in the 99s and 9s so I am both simultaneously extraordinarily gifted and incredibly impaired…in other words I am perfectly average…

Another random thought…my home church just got a new pastor and he started his first sermon on Romans 1:15…when I left South Sub the pastor there had been doing Romans for a few years and had covered approximately 1:1-5ish then skipped to just before 15…so it was almost as if the new pastor was picking up where the old one left off…Usually hearing the name of the book of Romans is enough to get me a little bit worked up…I do not know if that trigger has lost some power or if what I did with Michelle really worked a little bit or if I was just having a good day, but I sorta kinda paid attention to the message and didn’t get that upset…I mean there was still the initial shock, and right now writing about it there is some turmoil going on in my body, but I don’t think it is that bad. I have not felt like I was re-experiencing anything, and I have not felt overwhelmed with emotion about it…SCORE!

Okay, one more random thought before I post this and decide whether or not I think the printer will work since I don’t want my parents to find this on the printer even though the beginning anyway is benign enough…so yesterday as I was leaving Ray found out it was my last day and said something like that I should make a bigger deal out of it because I never make it a big deal, but they would like me to or something like that…I know that they like to have parties and totally would have one if I asked or even if I didn’t ask if everyone were aware of when my last day was for sure, but their parties are stressful for me–especially when they are celebrating me since I hate being the center of attention…It is a lot easier for me to just come and go as I need to without a lot of fanfare. I like the status quo. I appreciate an introduction to any changes that have occurred and a quick review of any changes made while I was still around when applicable, but beyond that, it feels more comfortable to me to come and go as if nothing has really changed…I might ask this summer for a new nametag that says I am an intern instead of a pharmacy clerk since that will have been two titles ago…

Care to share your thoughts?

