How Not to Blog Successfully…a tutorial by me

So if you would like to see how not to blog, exhibit A is my blog…

I am a lousy blogger…Sorry…I am not giving up though…I am doing a lot better than my last attempt though…My other personal blog has nearly 150 total views, but nearly all of them are me…and I only posted about 7 posts over the course of a little over three years, so it was not a very successful attempt…

I was looking recently at a blog post about how to start a successful blog…yeah, I did it all wrong…apparently you are supposed to have 50 posts ready before you even let the blog go live…I made the blog live before I ever had any idea what exactly I intended to write about and when I started writing I only had about three posts sort of swimming in my head, much less typed out ready to hit post on…

Another tip for success is to make meaningful comments on blogs similar to your own…umm yeah, another failure…for one thing I do not comment on anything very often because while it is one of the forms of communication I am most comfortable with, it still is communication which still can be difficult for me and still requires me to translate what I am thinking and feeling into coherent words…and many of the blogs I read are very different from my own…I write about my own life: college, OCD, social issues…I tend to read mommy blogs and Christian blogs by adults…some audience may overlap, but not a whole lot probably…and my writing doesn’t seem to be good enough that I actually retain the readers I manage to attract…

The other tip that I actually remember is to write about current events…umm, anyone who knows me very well could tell you there is no way I could be successful at that…if it does not affect me then I probably won’t know about it…the very little news that I know comes from yahoo news which is mostly funny stories more than it is news…and I get a teeny little bit of news as I walk past the TV at school and if people are talking about things…so yeah…

I don’t have to be good at everything, and there are a lot worse things to be lousy at than blogging…and I am not really good at much, so just because I am bad at it doesn’t mean I have any intention of quitting any time in the near future…

Care to share your thoughts?

