Would you see the real me inside?

(Save my Life–Sidewalk Prophets

You don’t know. You don’t know what it is like to see one of the few things that bring you joy in life, one of the few things that you have hoped for and been hanging on for to be abruptly taken away…again…you don’t know. You can’t know. You don’t know what it’s like to keep on living when all you’ve lived for is gone to find hope when everything you know about life might be wrong (Superchick). You don’t know. You don’t know what it is like to live in a silent prison unable to scream to escape, not because you don’t want to, not because you built that prison around yourself, but because you were placed there and the walls built up around you with no way out, and your screams will at best use up what strength you have left, and at worst be the impetus needed for them to kill you. You don’t know. You don’t know how it feels to be crushed from the inside, to be hurt until you think you cannot be hurt anymore and then be hurt further. You don’t know. You can’t know. You don’t know, but you want to fix it. My pain makes you uncomfortable. You want to put a smiley face band-aid over my heart and tell me you fixed it, expect to be my savior, but the hurt goes so much deeper than that. You want to say you are here with me, but until you have crawled across the shards of my shattered heart, you cannot come close enough to see me. You can’t see the pain deep inside, but will you take a chance and tell me what I need to hear, tell me that I’m not forgotten. Tell me that there’s more than all I’ve ever wanted. ‘Cause right now I need a little hope. I need to know that I’m not alone. But deep inside I’m calling you tonight to tell me something that might save my life.

Care to share your thoughts?

