Let’s All Be Brave: Living Life With Everything You Have (An Unconventional Book Review)

…so hopefully this post will have a lot fewer typos than the last one…I was trying to pack my lunch and possibly dinner and eat snacks and finish the post and eat snacks and get my shoes on and my butt in the car and therefore did not edit it very adequately and did not notice how messy it was until hours later at which point I decided ppl could figure out what I meant so whatevs…

This time I am reviewing Annie‘s book Let’s All be Brave.
untitled
I love Annie. She blogs over at the aptly titled blog Annie Blogs (Although she re-named it recently…but I am slow to adapt to re-naming sometimes…) I think I might have originally found her through Lynse Leanne (who seems to have deleted all her old posts and started writing posts that just don’t really connect with me anymore…) or Anne Jackson/Miller formerly of Flowerdust then Anne Jackson Writes and now AnneMarieMiller.com…and I think it was through Annie that I discovered (in)courage which I love and SheSeeks which I loved for a while and then they made changes and I no longer enjoyed it…but anyway, Annie is hilarious, honest, and relatable…

Let’s all be brave is about…drumroll please…being brave. Yep, no surprises there…but it isn’t about blind maybe stupid courage. It isn’t about telling everyone to go skydiving or to sell everything and move to another continent…It doesn’t even describe exactly what your brave should look like. What it does do is show what brave looks like everyday. It helps the reader recognize what bravery really is. It is pretty awesome…

I am pretty sure this book had a lower reading level than Atlas Girl which was super helpful for me…(Thank you Annie)…but it is not childish…It is Annie’s first adult book. She also is the author of From Head to Foot: All of You Living for All of Him. That book was also incredible when I read it a few years ago (if you are looking for it, it has been re-branded as Perfectly Unique. I like the cover better of From Head to Foot and know that the book can be checked out from the libraries in my home state)…

An awesome thing: sometimes love looks like sacrifice and feels like loss.

Also, Annie writes about singleness…

Also, this has very little to what Annie was writing about, but when I was reading the chapter called “the rhythm” I thought of a new perspective on OCD…obviously since this is something I came up with this morning, it is not at all scientifically backed…the older research says OCD is about doubt and impulsive repetitive behavior to make the thoughts stop…newer research says OCD is a product of the habit system going into overdrive…both of those make sense, but the way I saw it reading that chapter was OCD as a problem of inadequate trust and self-confidence. I don’t trust my body not to get sick so I NEED to help it by avoiding germs as much as possible and sanitizing anything sanitizable (and a few things that really aren’t like notebooks which do NOT appreciate hand sanitizer foam being poured on them, and do not really stay put in the sun very well…)…or I don’t trust myself to lock the door so I need to check over and over and over (that one I didn’t have, although a bit more concern may have been indicated the first week and a half of school this year…I don’t even want to think about how many times I came to my car and realized I had left the door unlocked or the window open or…umm…well…the door open…yeah…that happened…eventually I learned that even if it takes a couple extra seconds that it is definitely always a good idea to check the door/window before walking away…

So I was originally going to write a post called “I love I love I love I love I love…my job” (Hold Me–Jamie Grace)…I have always loved my job. It is pretty awesome. It is not what I want to be doing as a pharmacist, but as an intern I couldn’t ask for much else…I am now able to eat (as long as it is VERY quiet) and can excuse myself to go to the bathroom even if I is not an emergency and can even occasionally ASK for a lunch break instead of hoping I won’t be forgotten…and I have a pretty awesome manager who wanted to give me a raise last year and was foiled when they found out that I was actually registered as an intern rather than a tech (I didn’t think I needed the tech license/registration anymore…) but still fought for my pay to at least not go down too much (see, the intern pay scale starts significantly lower than the tech scale, and is supposed to start over every year rather than allowing for raises, so while I otherwise would have been moving up the tech scale, following the protocol would have sent me back to the bottom of the intern scale…)…so yeah, basically I love my job…and I really don’t do it for the pay…I was doing it pretty much full time for free (except for occasional lunches) for my month-ish long winter break first year, and had been there at least weekly since partway through high school…and they wanted so much to be able to pay me that a few weeks into the summer after first year I took a cut in responsibilities in order to be hired (I went from 97% of my time being tech-ing to 95% of my time being working the store…which was amazing, but it was even more amazing when they got the approval to get me into tech-ing for pay…although I still probably would do it for free…(I am not economically savvy)…

Bringing it back to being brave, I have a confession to make of a lack of bravery yesterday. I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to be working until 4 or until 8ish…so I decided I didn’t want to just show up if I wasn’t supposed o be there so I decided I would call and check before doing it…which would have been a reasonable plan, but then it came time to make the decision and I decided I didn’t want to be a nuisance and interrupt my manager’s Sunday afternoon…umm, I have her cell phone number and I also could have just checked in and seen if I was needed…but I didn’t…I was not brave. I am not proud of this, but it is also not a failure. Like my beautiful online friend Kati Morton from Healthy Mind Healthy Body often says, “it is a process not perfection.” It is okay if some of my choices are not brave…I don’t want to slip back into social anxiety, but it is okay if sometimes I leave parts of my communication skills at home (as long as it is not paralyzing and doesn’t happen frequently…I am quite content, but do not want to slide backwards…Now that I have glimpsed the bigger world I will no longer be content with the status quo that I accepted as totally normal for so long…if you want to find Kati she is on pretty much every social media site there is and runs her own social media site with forums and chatting and stuff at Katimorton.com …(except I don’t think she’s on spring.me, but I’m not sure and might be wrong)…

So anyway, as with Atlas Girl, if anyone would like to be the proud new owner of Let’s All Be Brave or would like to borrow it or knows someone who’d like it, please let me know!!

Care to share your thoughts?

