From the Ruins From the Ashes Beauty will Rise From the Wreckage From the Darkness

(Nothing is Wasted–Jason Gray)

I saw a blog post this morning called nothing is wasted. That is not actually what made me think about this, but it is what made me start listening to the song on repeat this morning…later I read this blog post. It is about how from a distance relationship with other people might seem overwhelming because they seem so perfect and with a status that seems unattainable, but when one person becomes vulnerable the relationship blossoms and becomes beautiful, and each person is cultivated by the other. I loved it…

I pinned it this morning because it was awesomesauce, but I’ll post it again here, because I might have people reading here whom I may not necessarily be following me on pinterest (which is probably a good thing since there might be peeps here whom I am not so keen on having access to this, much less hanging out on my pinterest…) and it is good enough that it is worth re-sharing…

“I often feel like you girls, my village, my tribe, my very foundation, are the reward in a divine deal. So yeah, I had to live through some s***, but in return I get to have each one of you in my life. You’re my helpers and my guardian angels. You’re the ones who hold my hands and cheer me on while I walk barefoot over the hot coals and you’ll be there to party with me on the other side too. Because when one of us makes it, we all make it. So thank you, with all that I have and all that I am, for being there when I was drowning, for seeing that I couldn’t swim and for reaching into that dark, cold water and pulling me out alive.”

When one of us makes it, we all make it…isn’t that what true friendship is? Encouraging someone as they are hurting, celebrating when it is over, and sharing in the successes rather than comparing one’s own successes and pretending the messy pieces of the puzzle don’t exist ’cause that isn’t as glamorous and exciting?

Going back to the song:

“Hurt broke your heart left you trembling in the dark feeling lost and alone.

 Tell you hope’s a lie but what if every tear you cry will seed the ground, what joy will grow?

 It is from the deepest wounds that beauty finds a place to bloom.

 Nothing is wasted.

 When hope is more than you can bear and it’s too hard to believe it could be true, and your strength fails you halfway there. You can lean on me and I’ll believe for you and in time you will believe it too.

 Sometimes we’re waiting in sorrow we’ve tasted.”

So powerful and real…I love it and just want to soak in these lyrics forever…also I am so excited that I get to go to work today!! I thought Saturday was going to be my last day, but instead I get to come in for like 3 or 4 hours today!! I ❤ my job. I ❤ my friends. I ❤ break…although I do not love trying to pry a clean t-shirt out from the bottom of the piles of clothes in my room…and packing is also something I should probably be doing…

Care to share your thoughts?

