From Atheism to Eternal Life…an ever so slightly more conventional book review

live foreverSo this is a review of From Atheism to Eternal Life: Proof that You Can Live Forever by Mark Taylor. As far as I know he doesn’t have a blog and if he does I definitely have never read it…

TBH I am really only writing this because I told myself I’d review each book I read. I did not really connect at all with this book. It is intended to be a proof of Christianity, and while I do agree that Christianity is truth, I did not feel that this book proved it.

This book seemed to do a beautiful job showing that there are problems with atheism, but it really just used the fact that there are issues to say that therefore Christianity is completely correct…which obviously from the perspective of logical thinking there are also issues with Christianity…I could totally see going from there are issues with both theories to saying that if Christians are right then atheists are missing the chance for eternal life whereas if atheists are right the Christians aren’t really missing out on anything…but to go from there are issues with atheism to therefore Christianity is right just doesn’t really compute in my opinion.

Perhaps I am jaded from a couple years of AWANA memorizing “the Bible is true because it says it is true” “The Bible is true because God says it is true” and other statements that just really aren’t proof because…well…anyone can make something up and write that it is true, but that doesn’t necessarily make it so, so the fact that it is written in the Bible that the Bible is true just doesn’t really prove that it is true…I’m not sayin’ I’m just sayin’…

All in all, it wasn’t a bad book, and it was a pretty quick and easy read. I would say if someone were on the fence about Christianity but were interested then it might be a useful read, and it may be interesting to someone who studies history or something, but it wasn’t really my cup of tea…and that is okay…I don’t need to like everything that I read, and I do not need to agree with everything presented to me…

But if anyone is interested in reading, I’d be happy to hook you up!

Care to share your thoughts?

