The Sun Has Gone To Bed And So Must I

(So Long, Farewell–The Sound of Music)

Dear Reader,

It is with a heavy heart that I inform you that I will be taking a break from blogging. I have loved blogging and it is so much more convenient to pull out my computer and start typing than to find my notebook and a writing utensil and blank page, but it has become time to take a break. I cannot tell you yet how long this break will be, but I know it will be at least a week, and could last as long as forever. I will still be here to approve (or deny as the case may be) comments and track views, but I will not be posting.

I have come to this decision after a group of people voyeuristically reading not because they were interested in what I had to say, and not because they were friends of mine offline supporting me in my endeavors, but because they wanted to pick apart my writing and read into things that were not necessarily there. That has caused this to go from a place where I could truly express myself safely to a place where I feel exposed and need to protect myself by extremely cautious topic-selection and never really writing about some of the things that really mean a lot to me for fear of offending someone, and that was not what this blog was supposed to be about. I have noticed through my stats that most of this activity has dwindled away, but I still do not feel as safe as before because I know the possibility is still open for my words to be re-purposed and used against me.

Additionally, there are some things that I need to process that are things that I would not necessarily want to hide from the people I know offline who read here, but I am working towards a pharmacy degree, not an editorial degree, so I think it would be best for me to take a bit of time off. No one has done anything recently in particular to hurt me, but the way in which I write about these things could potentially lead to hurt feelings if people do not understand their role in my words, and that is the last thing I would want, so to avoid the possibility of hurt feelings I am closing up shop for now. Hurting anyone is the last thing I would ever intend to do, but my editing abilities are not strong enough to be sure that my words will not unintentionally hurt anyone.

I love you guys and will miss you. I can’t promise a next time, but I wish you the best.

Regretfully yours,
Wiggle Worm

Care to share your thoughts?

