The Sword is Stained

(Toy Soldier–Stephanie Pauline)

I don’t have a lot of time or a lot of words to share today…but yesterday I was just feeling kind of defeated…an avg of 10 cookies/day is helpful, but it is not a cure-all…I turned off spotify and listened to Toy Soldier all day, and it is so good…Here are the lyrics (I typed them while listening to the song so they are as good as I could do, but even though I am friends with the singer, she is a self-proclaimed lousy speller and needs her son to help proofread her writing, so it probably isn’t any more accurate to get it directly from her.) :

There’s a toy soldier on my keychain to remind me I’m a warrior. There’s a creed I can say morning noon and night.

Everywhere I turn I must be aware of the danger, always enguard, always ready for the fight, but it may be true I’m more than a conqueror through Jesus Christ, but I don’t feel like a conqueror tonight.

So can I rest on your shoulder? Will you carry me home? I feel so far away. Please don’t leave me here alone, and tonight if, it’s okay with you, can I put down my armor and just be a daughter to you?

The mighty voyages, the adventures I have seen, the missions, the accomplishments, all the visions I have dreamed, a shell-shocked reality comes blasting into view. There’s no sense in anything if there’s no sense of you.

So can I rest on your shoulder? Will you carry me home? I feel so far away, please don’t leave me here alone, and tonight if it’s okay with you, can I put down my armor and just be a daughter to you?

This warfare waged has worn me thin. There’s shrapnel underneath my skin. The sword is stained, my hands are red, you know my thoughts before they’re said.

So can I rest on your shoulder? Will you carry me home? I feel so far away, please don’t leave me here alone, and tonight, if it’s okay with you, can I put down my armor and just be a daughter to you?

I love this song…so much truth in these words…actually pretty much all of Stephanie’s songs are deep and amazing.

Also, priorities…I has them…I thought I forgot my lotion this morning…I went back for it…I thought I forgot my phone this morning…I decided I’d just send out an email or a facebook message or something for people to not text/call me…as it turns out, both items were already in my backpack…

Care to share your thoughts?

