You’re Loved No Matter What: Freeing Your Heart from the Need to Be Perfect

(Link up with Holley Gerth…who is an incredibly talented writer and has a beautiful heart…and if you are interested in adoption, she does that too…oh, and she is super encouraging and kind!)

Prompt: Where do you think pressure to be perfect comes from and what can we do about it?

On some level, people have told me when I did well that they wouldn’t expect anything less of me…and when I do poorly no one believes me because everyone just expects that I will do well. People think things come easily to me and thus expect me t perpetually come well…but they really don’t come that easily for me–I work really hard and sometimes that work just isn’t enough to get me where I want to be…and other times I am able to achieve…

At the same time, I would be lying if I didn’t acknowledge that I do have high expectations for myself. I don’t know that it is necessarily perfection that I am striving towards, but I certainly want to do my best, whatever that is, and am disappointed when MY best doesn’t quite meet the standard I set for myself…

Finally, I also have known what I wanted to do with my life since I was in elementary school…and to get there I need to have grades good enough to get into residency and eventually the job I want…I know that doesn’t require straight A’s (or at least I sure hope it doesn’t since I might as well give up now since I do not have straight A’s), but I also know that straight C’s and D’s isn’t going to cut it either…so if my best doesn’t bring me to at least a certain level then that is no bueno…

2 thoughts on “You’re Loved No Matter What: Freeing Your Heart from the Need to Be Perfect

  1. Hi Holley,
    I can not figure out how to blog. I went to your web site and still can not figure it out.

    I see myself in your words so often. I have been and still am a perfectionist. God is really really working in my life to change me. That is the only real positive I can say. The trials and fires and storms have and still are awful, yet I know in the end, God will have molded me into something beautiful. So much more like His beloved son Jesus.

    To know that You’re Loved No Matter What: Freeing Your Heart from the Need to Be Perfect is inspiring and I am thankful that we have a God that does love us No Matter What. I also have been blessed by God with a husband who loves me no matter what. I am excited about God’s freeing my heart from the need to be perfect. Perfection is not easy or attainable.

    Thank you Holley for your many stories that have helped so many of us.

    Joy C.

    1. Hey Joy!! You have actually commented on my blog rather than on Holley’s blog…but I’m happy to hear from you 🙂 I think to comment on her blog it should be pretty similar to mine though?

Care to share your thoughts?

