Her last words still hanging in the air. In the air…and I will pull the trigger.

(Cassie–Flyleaf)

I have a love-hate relationship with this song…I love the music, and I think some of the lyrics are incredible, but it is apparently supposed to be based on a real school-shooting event, but the story it is based on is not actually true. It is a great story to say that the girl was asked if she believed in God and was killed for answering in the affirmative, but that didn’t happen…security footage and reports of the people there show that there was no conversation going on, not even any time to have a conversation. The shooter appeared and opened fire. It is possible that she lived in such a way that her faith was evident, but my hunch is that her faith had nothing to do with whether or not she was shot—she was simply in the wrong place at the right time…

Speaking of loving people well (which in my opinion is the most important part of living out your faith), we had an assembly in high school called Rachel’s challenge. I’m not really sure what the point of the assembly was aside from forcing us out of our classes…but basically they talked on and on about this girl who was so nice, and then she got shot…I was left wondering, so is my take away supposed to be don’t be nice to people because you’ll get killed anyway, or is my public high school telling me I better believe in God because you never know when you’re going to die? (There were definitely some Christian overtones to that presentation). After that presentation we were supposed to all sign a banner…no one really knew why we had to sign it and there was no way that they were really going to look through for every person’s signature, so a lot of people kind of got in the mob and then left without signing…and it was one of those times I really wished I wasn’t a rules-follower, because there was no way I was going to leave that gymnasium without signing the banner despite how majorly inconvenient it was and how I was constantly at the back of the line because I was too timid to push towards the front…I’m just lucky all of one grade had to leave the room before the next grade came in or else I might never have made it back to class…

I was going to take this another direction to talk about no’s that avoid pain and yes’s that might hurt, but I decided that this wasn’t the right time to write about that…as it turns out my notes have still not studied themselves despite having everything they could possibly need…so I’m gonna have to actually do the studying 😦 🙂

Care to share your thoughts?

