Every Day it’s Off To School I Go ‘Cause the More I can Learn the More Things I Will Know

(Planes Trains and Microwaves—Go Fish)

 

I had lots of plans for today…as in I am on pretty much like plan Z because plans A through Y fell through…but I don’t even care because there is this super awesome thing called chairs and floors at school…I might have gotten a little bit over-excited and done a victory lap in a very small circle when I picked somewhere to sit and daydream about all the awesome things on the internet that I have no intention of buying…it’s not that I didn’t expect there to be flooring…just that at home I didn’t have those things or a lot of other things, and I forgot how awesome it was to be able to set something down for a minute and to take off my shoes somewhere besides the shower or my bed…I mean, yeah, I spent hours Friday morning in the breakroom at work (best dollar on parking I ever spent) but that isn’t quite the same because I still feel like I need to look like a professional if I am at my workplace…so yeah…who even cares what my plans were or that I haven’t even thought about my classes yet when I am busy appreciating the little things? Sometimes it really is the little things that make the biggest difference…and it took me a ridiculous amount of time to walk out the door this morning because “yay! I don’t have to get my feet in my shoes without soaking the shoes to get out of the shower” and “this is super awesome to be able to walk around without it being super loud” and “my clean clothes can touch the floor and still be wearable!” and “chairs! Let’s sit on them.”

 

I learned a lot of things yesterday…like even if you aren’t really that hungry you should probably eat and drink more than just a peanut butter sandwich and a little water between getting up and going to church…see I got in the car around 4:30 in the morning, and drove to my apartment and then spent from 1:40ish until 3:30 working on unpacking…and then went to church and only got a little bit lost because I hadn’t found my directions yet, and it hadn’t occurred to me I could look up the directions and write out a new set…and when I got to church I had a peanut butter sandwich and some water and went to work greeting…Also I met another girl who was super nice and I might want her to be my friend…It is really hard sitting through a service when you are mentally exhausted, have way too much energy from being cooped up all day, want to say hi to ALL the people, and are kinda starting to feel dizzy from not eating/drinking enough…

 

Church was awesome because I was so craving human contact. After working an average of 41.95 hours per week and spending 5 hours in the church nursery every day in addition to having a family at home, spending all day pretty close to alone was super hard for this extravert…I started playing a game of doing a peace sign in my rearview mirror and seeing if anyone would wave back. One person did…You know you need some people time when your brain is too tired to form words, but you are thrilled to just be around people…

 

Also, I learned not to go to the car wash that I went to last night…it was expensive and didn’t even get my car clean…I was not a fan…

 

I was super proud of me last week. A school bus driver didn’t feel like the stop sign applied to him while I was driving across the intersection and I honked my horn. That is probably the first time I ever honked the horn of a car since I was learning to drive and did that as a checklist of things to be able to do…The people pleaser in me keeps me from doing it…It just feels so rude…

 

Speaking of driving, I am still the same girl I was in high school…I can now follow directions in which left and right are not both doodled out and color coded, but I still won’t necessarily know which way to go if you just tell me to turn left or right…I failed the drivers test one of the times I took it because they told me to turn one direction and I turned the opposite way…they should have said turn towards the window or towards me and I would have been able to follow directions…

 

And speaking of the drivers test I think it is dumb that so much of it involves parking…especially the ninety degree back in. You wanna know the number of times I have done a ninety degree back in since receiving my license? It is ZERO…If you really want another parking section how about how to use a parking lot, AKA if only half of your car fit in the spot then you need to choose a different (bigger) spot…or how about forgetting the whole parking thing since who cares about what you do at 5mph if you know what you’re doing at 50mph and add in how to use the freeway…I mean, yeah, it might be challenging to simulate a freeway in a parking lot, but would it really be that hard to use a real road? Just sayin’

 

I was a crabby pants by bedtime (at 8pm) yesterday, but it wasn’t because life is so bad…I am super blessed. The sky was so beautiful yesterday morning. I stopped at a gas station and it was closed (as in it was under construction and the pumps weren’t working) and I started freaking out because I didn’t know where I was going to come across another gas station and the search function on my phone is kind of lousy and was telling me “no results found” when I searched for gas stations…after some time searching I decided to just try my luck and get back on the freeway and try the next exit…which did have a functional gas station…and greeting gave me a chance for at least a little more human interaction than even just showing up and being lost in the crowd…I was just crabby because I was exhausted after having an entire break of a really disrupted sleep schedule (hello having only one “normal” shift in an entire break instead closing most nights) and also after packing my radio on Thursday evening, sleeping was harder than usual…I already have trouble falling asleep because I have too much energy, so taking away the normalcy of the radio is always hard…so yeah…last night I didn’t even wake up thirsty after a couple hours, instead sleeping a good 9ish hours…probably a world record for me…sleep is so good…

 

I feel like I should study…but instead I have had a super lazy Sunday watching youtube and/or vegging on the couch doing absolutely nothing…I feel lazy, but at the same time it feels so good…

Care to share your thoughts?

